April 2, 2015

Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton

Rock and a Hard Place 
Series: The Jamieson Collection #1
Source: bought paperback
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 24th 2013
Age Genre: Young Adult
Original Post: October 14, 2013
Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Susane Colasanti, Angie Stanton's swoon-worthy romance--about an ordinary girl and a young rock star--will keep readers on the edge of their seats . . . and leave them wanting more.
In an instant, Libby's life went from picture-perfect to a nightmare. After surviving a terrible car accident, Libby is abandoned by her father and left with her controlling aunt. A new town, a new school, no friends--Libby is utterly alone. But then she meets Peter.
The lead singer in a rock band with his brothers, Peter hates that his parents overly manage his life. Constantly surrounded by family, Peter just wants to get away. And when he meets Libby, he's finally found the one person who just wants to be with him, not the rock star.
But while Peter battles his family's growing interference in both his music and personal life, Libby struggles with her aunt, who turns nastier each day. And even though Libby and Peter desperately want to be together, their drastically different lives threaten to keep them apart forever.
There is only one way to describe Rock a Hard Place:
The story starts with a chance meeting between two very different people: Peter and Libby. A meeting that each comes out from feeling a little... different. Like the other frees and soothes something in them. Attraction ensues. A relationship starts.

They were both great characters; Libby is easy to relate to, because of how human and strong she grows to be.

Peter is easy to love, because he never let fame get to his head, and what he truly loves is the music - not the attention that comes with it.
this feels like Libby and Peter to me. 
The book mostly revolves around their romantic relationship, which is pretty insta love, BUT, I felt like it was okay like this. And trust me, as an advocate against insta love everywhere, this means something.

They both drew strength they might've otherwise not possessed from the relationship: Libby finds the will to stand up for herself, and Peter finds inspiration and a renewed energy to face the limelight now that he has the solace of Libby's company.

I find that this is the type of relationship I like best.

But the thing that really convinced me of them happens half way through... and it's a spoiler. A long one.

SPOILER Libby and Peter get separated, and quite dramatically. But what makes this book beautiful and unique is how they both handle it. 

How many times have we watched a main female character break apart and fall to pieces over a breakup? But don't worry, there's no Bella Syndrome for Libby. Instead of letting their time together bring her down, she uses it to draw strength to move on and become better. To become an independent, strong young woman who knows exactly what she wants and gets it. 

I cannot express the amount of love I have for Libby (and Angie, who wrote her), for choosing this path.  

On the other hand, it's Peter who shows the more traditional symptoms of depression and unhappiness. But it's not pathetic, because he doesn't let it stop him from doing his job--or stop him from finding Libby. It was heartwarming ♥ END SPOILER

This book was just so good. I read it in one sitting, the pages flew by this fast. And When I was done, I wanted more.

   Nitzan

Buy Now 
The Book Depository
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery
Kindle/Paperback

No comments:

Post a Comment